Kayakalp Scheme – Objectives | Eligibility Criteria and Much More!

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoHFW) initiated this program on 15 May 2015 to appreciate and recognize the positive efforts made by hospitals and community health centers at the district and state levels towards a more hygienic and clean environment.

In general, beginning with district hospitals in 2015, it has expanded to PHC level (2016) and urban health facilities (2017), resulting in a high rate of healthy behavior outcomes.

Objectives of the Kayakalp Scheme

  • Promoting cleanliness, hygiene, and infection control practices in public healthcare institutions by rewarding and recognizing those facilities for excellent performance in observing established cleaning and infection control standards
  • To cultivate a culture of constant evaluation of performance in terms of sanitation, cleanliness, and hygiene.
  • To develop and disseminate sustainable methods for enhancing cleanliness in public health facilities that are connected to good health outcomes

Who Can Participate in the Kayakalp Scheme?

The eligibility requirements for the Kayakalp scheme are as follows:

You May Like

  • Organization affiliated with the Committee for Hygiene and Infection Control.
  • Periodically, a body organizes peer or internal assessments based on the specified criteria.
  • Institutions scoring above 70 percent on the peer evaluation scale.

How is the Kayakalp Award Scheme’s Assessment Process Conducted?

1. Internal Evaluation

Internal evaluations have to be done every three months. Records of the results should be kept and given to the Chief Medical Officer. Their own medical personnel will conduct this examination utilizing the accepted assessment methods.

2. Peer Evaluation

  • Peer evaluation is conducted by the medical staff of a separate block between the districts for institutions that have an internal assessment score of at least 70%.
  • At the state level, a similar procedure is used where one team is sent from one DH to assess at another DH.
  • As they serve as the foundation for nominations for yearly awards, the peer assessment should be completed at least once annually.

3. Nomination of the Facilities

The District Award Nomination Committee compiles all of the peer assessment findings and compares them in order to choose those who received evaluation scores of at least 70%.

What Kinds of Awards Are Available Through This Scheme?

The Kayakalp program is advantageous since it-

  • Significantly improves a facility’s bio-management processes.
  • Improves the user experience.
  • Encourages collaboration throughout the organization.
  • Various stakeholders and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) can actively engage and share duties.
  • Giving gifts as a form of appreciation improves inter-sectoral collaboration.
  • Rewards and incentives tend to establish an evaluation and management culture.

The Kayakalp initiative has helped to develop India’s healthcare industry. The assessment method increases health professionals’ participation, resulting in improved coordination and collaboration. Furthermore, awarding prizes fosters a feeling of rivalry and pride among hospitals and other community health centers.

Leave a Comment